Discover Assynt
Getting Here
Home About News Events Gallery Contact Links Downloads
Home Photo Gallery  
Historic Assynt Assynt Through Time Castles & Ruins Museums Historic Assynt Projects Heritage Trails
« Return to Listings

Inchnadamph Old Parish Church

The current church dates from 1743, but it took on its present appearance in 1900. Complaints about the maintenance of the original building were frequent during the decades after it was built. In 1814, “the church [was] in a most ruinous condition, seats entirely gone and roof so very rotten it is a most uncomfortable and dangerous place of worship”. The Sutherland estate wanted to build a new church in Lochinver, where most of Assynt’s population now lived and so were unwilling to fund repairs. However, extensive renovations were again undertaken in 1900 by the Dingwall architect, William Joass who altered the interior, adding panelling to the walls, moving the pulpit to the east end and changing the colour from blue to pink! Externally, he added the louvered spire, dormer windows, and bargeboards. The church, in keeping with the other buildings in Kirkton, is now very much in Sutherland Estate style.
The church continued to play an important part in local life for the next fifty years, but was abandoned in the early 1970s. Following renovation in 2003, it has been reopened as a building for community use. It also houses interpretative panels and a local history and genealogical archive.
Within the church are the fragments of a carved stone cross which dates back to the 9th – 11th centuries. It could well have been 3metres or more high.


Visit: www.historicassynt.co.uk
Inchnadamph Old Parish Church
Copyright 2018 Assynt Tourism | login Website Design by SAMTEQ