The Culag Hotel was originally built in 1795 by Sir Joseph Bacon as a smokehouse for herring. It was then later sold to Macdonald of Skye. In 1870 the Duke of Sutherland extended the building using it as his summer residence. In 1890 The Culag was first leased out as a hotel. It has changed hands three times in the last century and is now in the hands of Ken and Sheila Whalen.
Surrounded by beautiful countryside, the village is the perfect location from which to explore the west coast, go shooting, fishing or walking, or just admire the wonderful views.
Our comfortable rooms are spread over the top 3 floors of the historic building. They are well-appointed with tea/coffee making facilities and Freeview flat screen TVs. All of our rooms are en-suite and sleep from 1 to 4 people.
The Pier, Lochinver,